Creating An Impact On The World One Smile At A Time

So I finally got round to creating an impact on the world with my joke idea, however due to time and other factors I had to try a much more anonymous project. My original idea is out lined here and as you will see what I did is not far off it. I still used jokes and I still wanted to spread happiness and smiles throughout the city of Coventry but instead of telling the jokes to people I simply left them stuck to walls around town for them to stumble upon. I thought that people would be more likely to read them if they were left there for them to read rather than someone coming up to them with a camera asking them if they wanted to hear a joke. Unfortunately in this world we live in if someone in the street comes up to you to ask you something you instantly assume that they want to sell you something or want your money for charity (annoyingly true). My aim was just to bring a smile to someone’s day, even it was just one person, smiles are infectious. The problem with this method of distribution is that I can’t see the effect my posters are having, I can just  hope that they are.

The jokes I used were very simple ones that are not particularly clever or intellectual making them accessible to everyone from young to old. Here are the Four I used:

As you can see I went for very childish simple jokes with bold writing to entice people towards them. I think that, although it is a very simple idea, it will have a brilliant effect on the public and make a few people giggle at least.

Before I produced this project I did a bit of research into happiness and what it means for different people. Wikipedia defines it like this:

Happiness is a mental state of well-being characterized by positive or pleasant emotions ranging from contentment to intense joy.[1] A variety of biological,psychologicalreligious, and philosophical approaches have striven to define happiness and identify its sources.

Every religion seems to have some kind of answer for it, and even science thinks it knows, but at the end of the day it cannot be measured or tested so its up to those affected. Its an objective emotion that can be brought on by many different things ranging from watching a baby making funny faces or by just doing something for someone else. Who knows, all I know is that you would have to be inhuman to not give a smile for at least one of these jokes so I am comfortable that I brought a bit of what I would call happiness to someone. There you go impact created!

 

Leave a Reply

